So now I’m stuck.  I’ve received essentially 3 “opportunity” options (They aren’t really jobs, not all of them: an unpaid part-time opportunity to shadow a game designer; a part-time paid opportunity to help set up something in the gaming industry, and a paid management position at a start-up gaming company.)

But I havent even really had a week off, let along the 6 weeks I thought I wanted.  So initially I figured I’d say no to at least 2 of them, and anything else that came my way…

But what if I am closing doors that won’t open again? And I also realized that at the moment, I just have ZERO experience, to the point that when I sit at home “working” and “studying” I just get frustrated being unsure if I’m even taking the right steps.  If I do take work now, at least I get sideways into the industry, even if it isn’t yet doing quite what  I want, and I stay productive – which tends to make me more productive in my off time, too.

But if I am going to take work, is it better to take something handed to me now, where I will probably have more control and an easier in, but be working with less famous people; or to try to get in with “higher” mentors and perhaps miss a good chance?

I lean toward the former (smaller companies and opportunities now) but welcome feedback…

