Owl Guide From Legend of Zelda Series

Kaepora appeared to Link periodically to help when he was in a bind.

Even in single-player games, you can’t get ahead with a few friendly characters to help you along the way.  These people usually can offer directional advice, tips on monsters you are likely to encounter, and new weapons for your menagerie.

We need these just as much, if not more, in real life.  The problem is, they aren’t generally programmed to stand at crossroads or have exclamation points over their heads, and so can be a little harder to locate.  Since making a decision for at least the industry I would like to start learning more about (video game creation), I’ve begun telling the world of my quest.  If anyone asks me “how are things going?,” I’m not hesitant to let them know about my desire to learn more about video game production.  I’ve begun reaching out to near strangers (or complete strangers) to ask for help or any guidance they may have.

And the response has been overwhelming. 🙂

I now have two or three people sending me weekly blog posts to review; within a week I’ve received introduction to the two people I was dying to meet (and thought I wouldn’t until I was much farther along).  For example:

I was recently contact by an old colleague who asked how I was and wanted my thoughts on a few things.  As I had been, I let him know about my thoughts changing industries.  He asked me “Who’s job do you envy?”  To which I quickly responded: “Jane McGonigal and Jade Raymond” – two incredible women who both seem to have work I would love.  he responds almost immediately: “Small world!  I worked with Jade a few years ago, we used to get half-sandwiches together, since we only had half a lunch break.  I’ll introduce you now.”

…what?  I’m about to meet one of the people I admire the most in the industry just two weeks in?  I couldn’t believe it.

LESSON:
It’s hard to enter any new journey alone.  Do not be afraid of or embarrassed by your ignorance (but be sure to recognize your ignorance as well.)  Ask people for help; let them know about what you are doing and what you need.  When people can, they are most often willing to help.

